GHL Blog Rotating Header Image

Research in Warren County

Share Button


This week’s North Carolina County of the Week  is Warren County, so I wanted to post some information about the county and doing research using county records.

Warren County was created in 1779 from Bute County. Bute County was abolished in 1779 and split to create Warren and Franklin Counties. Counties that border present day Warren County are in the North: Mecklenburg County, VA, Brunswick County, VA,  Counties. From the East to the West, the NC counties that border Warren are: Northampton, Halifax, Franklin, and Vance.

The closest early major migration route to Warren County is the Fall Line Road, which traveled through Warrenton, the county seat of Warren County. The Fall Line begins in Fredericksburg, VA and travels south to Augusta, GA.

The county seat is Warrenton, which was established in 1779. Warren County has many places on the National Register of Historic Places and many of those are located in Warrenton.

Many of the original records for Warren County are located in the State Archives of North Carolina; however, some records are missing for an unknown reason.  The Government and Heritage Library has some books and microfilm for Warren County that also encompass records from Bute County – view the catalog to see what books and microfilm our library has. Microfilm can be loaned to NC residents through their local libraries. Please contact your local public library about borrowing microfilm through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Not all records are located in the State Archives. Many land records and vital records, including birth and death certificates as well as marriage certificates after 1868 are located with the Warren County Register of Deeds office.

Read more about Warren County on NCpedia.

You can also follow us this week to learn more about Warren county on:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is a service of the State Library of North Carolina, part of the NC Department of Natural and Cultural Resources. Blog comments and posts may be subject to Public Records Law and may be disclosed to third parties.